Cell Phone Plans And Your Budget: Can They Get Along?

lots of old phones

Technology changes too fast.

For a good couple of years, I spent $60-80 per month on a cell phone plan. For 6 months I splurged on a smartphone and ended up spending over $100 each month, and got so behind in payments that I ended up selling it and going back to my old phone, my trusty Motorola Razr, which was still at least $60 per month. I went years hating my phone bill every time I saw it and dying a little every time I had to pay it. To make things worse, when I moved to my new apartment an hour away, I barely had any service anymore.

It’s 2012, and I finally had the opportunity to say goodbye to my Razr once and for all, as well as the pricey bill that came every month. I switched to a cheaper provider and will save about 50% each month. I’ve wanted to do this for a while and did a lot of research, and feel good about my new plan. It’s affordable and I even have a new phone which didn’t break the bank (it was $50 and includes a slide-out QWERTY keyboard, for inquiring minds.)

Fear not, you can save money too! Start off the new year on the right foot by reigning in your cell phone bill. Take out your bill right now and see how much you’re spending.

Ask yourself these questions:

  • What kind of phone do you have?
  •  How much was the phone?
  • How much are you paying every month for these services?
  •  What do you use your phone for the most?
  • Do you feel like you’re paying too much? Are you having trouble paying on time every month?
  • Are you locked in on a contract? When does it end? Will you have early termination fees if you end early?

Take a minute to really consider what you’re paying for, especially if you feel like you’re overpaying and are having trouble paying on time. If you are ready to make the switch, here are some great websites that will help you find the right plan for you at the right cost, since individual differences may vary.

When you choose a plan, keep these in mind:

  • Talk: Are you a light, moderate, or heavy talker? How many minutes do you use on an average month?
  • Text: Light, moderate, heavy, or just addicted?
  • Data: Don’t care about it? Just the occasional email (or Facebook)? Or gotta have it?
  • If you already have and pay for a landline, consider keeping the cell phone for emergencies or short convos to lower the amount of minutes you’ll need (and lower your monthly plan). Or get rid of the landline and only go wireless. Same deal with data plans and other extras. Do you need to access the web or email or is it a luxury you can live without when on the road to save money on? Can you wait until you get home to use your computer or laptop?

Have any other tips or seen companies offering great rates? Let me know and I’ll add them in this article. I hope I helped you consider your phone bill and how to save you money every month, just like I have.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Cell Phone Plans And Your Budget: Can They Get Along?

  1. […] Cell Phone Plans And Your Budget: Can They Get Along? (thecatalystblog.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Marjorie says:

    Great post specially now that everyone’s pocket is al title emptier than ever. I also re evaluated my cell phone needs and concluded that i was paying way too much for a need that was created by advertising, and not necessarily reflected my lifestyle. So, I tested myself using pretty much the above criteria list and the results led me to switch from a cell phone contract to prepaid at the beginning of this year. That was one of my best moves, which resulted in savings of more than $60 a month! With TracFone prepaid, I only buy the minutes i need – no more than $30 a month if that. In terms of the actual phone i gave up my smartfone and bought an inexpensive flip for $15 – yes, it took me a bit to get used to this gadget again, but it was totally worth it. Who says I can’t go back to basics and still keep up with the Joneses? I did, but now I actually have much more $$$ in my pockets than they do!

Leave a Reply

