Wake Up With a Smile and a Mantra Everyday

SmileMost people wake up in a fog (or hungover) and groan as they pick themselves up from their bed, peel off that oh-so-comfortable comforter blanket and shuffle their way to the coffee-maker. What is the first thought that goes into your head when you wake up?

Mine is: I am healthy, happy, and strong. I will work on my goals today and be productive.

Not quite what you’d expect, right? It wasn’t always that way. I used to hate waking up, wanting to hide under the covers all day rather than risk wasting the day hating myself and my life. I would immediately turn on the train wreck of negative thoughts and worry about what I had to do that day, and how I’ll probably find some way to mess it up or that I won’t have time to do it all, or that I will somehow waste the day.

It took me a long time to realize that when I wake up thinking negative thoughts, they just snowball into a huge boulder on my chest, preventing me from going after what I really wanted for my life. And when I am thinking negative thoughts, it becomes nearly impossible to think of positive ones.

So I started to try out this positive mantra of how I see myself wanting to be: strong, healthy, and most of all, happy. People don’t just wake up and suddenly become happy. But you can change your cognitive thinking to more positive thoughts, and it will be easier to learn to be happy.

Yes, you can learn to be happy.

Being happy isn’t a goal. It’s not a place you get to and then start living the good life. It’s not an endpoint. It’s the journey. It’s the attitude. It’s a feeling. The easiest way to tell if someone is happy is by their facial expression: what is the universal symbol for happiness? A smile. So start your day with a smile (and breakfast), and you will start waking up a lot easier without negative thoughts.

When you smile, instantly think of a positive mantra. You can use mine, or you can think about your favorite inspiring quote. Flash an image that makes you happy — your kids, your boyfriend, a friend that makes you laugh, flowers, you meeting an important goal, anything — every morning. Having trouble thinking of a positive mantra? Need some ideas? Download this pdf file of great ones.

Soon it will be automatic, and you will begin to face each morning as a new day to conquer your goals, not as just another day to get through and get it over with.

Every day is a new chance to do something important for the rest of your life. 

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Wake Up With a Smile and a Mantra Everyday

  1. Kent says:

    Hello friend,I enjoy your blog!

  2. amy says:

    Thank you for this inspiring blog. I have real problems getting up in the morning and it really affects my success in life. I’m definitely trying this technique tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

